Next stop Bel-Air

  • Nationale 6, the holiday route

    Once, this route would give travellers a completely different opportunity to appreciate an endless variety of holiday itineraries. At that time, setting off for a trip meant admiring landscapes, passing through cities and villages, driving on a "real" road and not on a monotone motorway of today. It was a promise of beautiful surprises. Thus in France, the emblematic Route Nationale 6 was and is still associated with the route of the sunand holidays. It links Paris with the Alps via Burgundy but a lot of travellers exit the RN6 in Lyon to continue on the famous Nationale 7, La Route Blue (The Blue Route) towards Côte d'Azur. This axis RN6-RN7 has become an ultimate symbol of ‘The Route of Holidays’.

  • Next stop, Bel-Air

    The Bel-Air plateau in La Rochepot on the Nationale 6 used to be an inescapable "rest stop" on the Route of holidays in the 50s – 70s. The highest point between Paris and Lyon would bring to the end a long ascent and would signify that one had crossed Morvan. Situated 310 km from Paris, it was necessary to stop to fill up the car tank. It was a good opportunity to give cars and lorries a break and to have a bite: two petrol stations and two garages, one classical road restaurant and the famous "Relairoute de La Rochepot" where The Red Circle (Le Cercle Rouge) by Jean-Pierre Melville starring Alain Delon was shot. This place used to be a veritable automobile city.

  • Winning back the RN6

    The opening of the A6 that joined Paris and Lyon in October 1970 put the end to the activities of Bel-Air. The RN6 had been abandoned for 40 long years until the fans, followers and devotees of that Golden Age (known as "The Thirty Glorious Years") started taking the Nationale 6 again. Since then it has been downgraded to the D906 in Côte d’Or. Today, "Station du Bel-Air" (situated close to the future site of Vintage Bel Air) is being renovated by the Agglomeration Community of Beaune Côte & Sud and is passionately animated by the AOC association. It is already a well-known rallying point for old car collectors and amateurs. 

    Unique in its nature, Vintage Bel Air® project will not only give a boost to this place but will also contribute into bringing back to life the Nationale 6.

L'Arrêt Bel Air

  • Nationale 6, route des vacances

    Autrefois, la route offrait aux voyageurs une toute autre rencontre avec l’infinie variété des contrées parcourues. A cette époque, partir signifiait traverser les paysages, les villes et les villages. Ainsi, en France, l’emblématique Nationale 6 évoque la route du Soleil et des vacances, la certitude de rouler non pas sur une bien monotone autoroute, mais dans la promesse d’un beau voyage. Elle reliait Paris aux Alpes par la Bourgogne, mais beaucoup de personnes la quittaient à Lyon pour continuer sur la célèbre Nationale 7, La Route Bleue vers la Côte d'Azur. Cet axe RN6-RN7 est devenu le symbole de "La route des vacances" par excellence.

  • Arrêt Bel-Air

    Le plateau de Bel-Air à La Rochepot, sur la Nationale 6, était l’étape incontournable sur la Route des vacances dans les années 50/70. Point culminant entre Paris et Lyon, y arriver au terme d’une longue montée signifiait qu’on avait franchi le Morvan. À 310 km de Paris, il fallait songer à faire le plein. C’était l’occasion de laisser respirer voitures et camions et d’y "casser la croûte" : deux stations-services et deux garages, un restaurant routier classique et le célèbre "Relairoute de La Rochepot" où fut tourné. Le Cercle Rouge de Jean-Pierre Melville avec Alain Delon, formaient une véritable petite cité de l’automobile. 

  • Reconquête de la RN6

    L’ouverture de l’autoroute A6 reliant Paris à Lyon en octobre 1970 a stoppé l’activité de Bel-Air. Après quarante ans de sommeil, les nostalgiques et les passionnés de cet âge d’or ont commencé à reprendre la Nationale 6, déclassée depuis en D 906 en Côte d’Or, pour cheminer sur les traces des "Trente Glorieuses". Aujourd’hui, la "Station du Bel-Air", située à proximité du futur Site Vintage Bel Air®, rénovée par la Communauté d’Agglomération de Beaune Côte et Sud et animée avec passion par l’association AOC, constitue déjà un point de ralliement reconnu des collectionneurs et amateurs de véhicules anciens.

    Unique en son genre, le projet Vintage Bel Air® s’apprête à offrir un nouvel élan à ce lieu et à travers lui à contribuer à la revitalisation de la Nationale 6.